Awards Conditions and FAQ

Important dates

The Award is now open for application to tourism properties to apply and the application opportunity will close on 24th April 2018.

Shortlisting will be finalized by 4th May 2018.

The awards ceremony will be the 28th June 2018.

Who can apply?

First of all, it is free to apply.

Awards are provided to tourism products or properties. Only tourism properties or products that provide accommodation such as lodges, hotels, camps or a particular product such as a Serengeti walk can apply.  A product can be a a lodge or permanent camp or you can also apply as a product that is mobile, provided it is marketed to customer as a branded product; so for example your Walking Mobile Camp can apply if it is marketed as a product.

A company with several products cannot  apply as a company, applications can only be for individual branded properties and products and not as a company in general.

All companies that are submitting applications for the products or properties must have a TALA license.

Applicants properties must be in Tanzania .

How many categories can I apply for:

You may enter as many applications as you wish, in fact we encourage it, providing you meet the criteria of all categories you are entering.

If you have several properties, you can submit more than one application at once. If you are a company that have more than one property, you can send an application for as many products as you like as well as apply for more than one category of award.

You are allowed only one property per application form for any given category, however a property can apply for more than one award. You cannot put the names of two products or properties in one application form.

How do I apply?

You apply online, we have forms that you fill online within this website. You will need the name of the property, name and details of the person filling in the application and have to answer 3 to 4 questions per application.

Click here to download the application information and questions so that you can prepare you application  in advance to entering the information online>Award_Application_Information

Click here to go to the application forms to apply.

What kind of awards are there?

There are eight (8) categories for the Responsible Tourism Award and one Overall Winner of the Responsible Tourism Tanzania Best Practice Awards.

  • Category 1 – 8 expect 7: An applicant will need to demonstrate their sustainability approach and result as well as positive impact evidences where feasible to People, Planet, Profit  and Promotion of Cultural Preservation
  • Category 7: Requires the business to demonstrate positive impact on the largest number of SDG(s) implementations in their operations and to show evidence of statements of commitment towards SDGs supported at the highest governance level of the organisation.

How long will it usually take to complete an entry form?

Expect to take about 30 minutes to an hour to complete the application form, once all information has been collected to answer the relevant questions.

You can download the questions before and prepare your answers, then you just have to cut and paste the answers and relevant information into the application form in the website.

Do I have to stick to the word count?

We ask you to try, we would like to encourage you to keep it short. Some questions are simple and we recommend 100 words only, the others need more information but try not to go over 200 words. We will not be doing a word count, this is just a basic guideline.

Who will see information that I submit? Is it private and confidential?

Responsible Tourism Tanzania personnel and the judging panel will have access to the entry forms.

The information will be kept private and confidential. If you are a winner, we will request to use some of the information at the awards ceremony.

It is important to note that the judges’ comments on the successful entry may be referred to at the awards ceremony.

How will the judging and winner selection take place?

Judging will be carried out by an independent panel of industry leaders and experts in their field, selected for their impartiality, knowledge of Responsible Tourism and experience.

The initial short-listing will be based on the information provided within the application form along with a look at your website and any third party sites.

Short listed businesses will be notified in End of May if they have been selected for the final stages.

An overall winner of the Responsible Awards is also selected, the overall winner will be selected from a property that has submitted the most number of applications, the highest score and the most SDG’s addressed.

Other category winners will be selected to the highest score per category.

The winners and the runners up will be announced at the awards ceremony on the 28th June 2018.

Will additional information or site visit be required?

Short listed properties will be required to provide additional information or to verify the information in the application.

The organizers will contact you with a list of requirements to verify your application and you can discuss with them the best means to get the information to them, it might be by email, Dropbox or physical hard copies.

Responsible Tourism Tanzania may visit your property by independent person, a verification officer.  The independent verification officer will present you with a letter of authorization from RTTZ informing of his/her intentions.

What will the winners receive?

The overall winner of the Responsible Awards will be invited to the World Economic Forum in Geneva, Switzerland. This is an all expenses paid trip to the forum.

All award winners will receive a prestigious trophy and framed certificate.

In addition, winners will be included in all post-event publicity and receive a logo for use on their stationery, brochures and website as appropriate.

There is of course the kudos attached to winning such an award which can also provide a fantastic boost to tourism and hospitality teams.

Comments are closed.